Down Canadian Roads Part 11 Vancouver Island to Victoria Harbour, Ontario

      For Deanne

***

(Click on photos to magnify)

scan-26

The Undertaker’s Granddaughter

***

Victoria Harbour, Georgian Bay, Deanne Returns to her Family Roots.

Coming Home

(Study #1)

***

  The smiles I show

Are simply

 Confirmation

   That the life I led

Resists the erosion of time.

*

  In the midst of flux

   I observe only decorous lace

   Around the edges of my narrative.

   The environs of my childhood

      Remain intact.

***

Autumn Yearnings

Remembering

(Study #2)

***

I live simultaneous

With my memories.

A fusion of then and now.

I reconcile the past and the present.

This is my power

***

Remembering

    (Study #3)

 My genome

Mapped on a village grid,

The paths I walked meander through my mind.

On unsure legs I trip

Over little tufts of

Unextinguished

Memories.

***

Robins Point, Georgian Bay: October Winds

(Study #4)

***

It is lonely here in autumn.

The restless geese speak of departing.

My pale green heart bleats out a muffled cry

And only solitary distant loons

Reply

***

Highways North to Georgian Bay

Down Hwy. 400, October 2012

Hwy. 400, October 2012

(Study #5)

 ***

My paint brush soul,

                                Dipped in October’s many hues

                                      Depicts aqueous patches

                                             Deposited on hillsides.

   I roll down autumn roads

                    Towards  a destination.

Who knows where?

***

Scan 25

Highways North

(Study #6)

Deciduous mosaics

              Punctuated by

                          Resolute, straight backed evergreens

                                     Roll out a canvas.

                                              Scruffy rufous sumac,

                                                           Foliage burnished golden

                                                                     In autumn’s glow,

                                                                                  Simmering incendiary arboreal towers

                                                                                Spawn pyroclastic billows of embers

                                                                                                                          Against a chill grey sky. ..

***

Highways North

Down Hwy. 400, October 2012

Hwy. 400, October 2012

(Study #7)

***

Autumn yearnings, a final flowering,

Concert of foliage in the breeze,

Served with generous  

Drippings of

  Nostalgia.

***

Retro-perspective:

Going home

(Study #8)

***

…no regrets

But nonetheless

I dreamed a dream

  Of sights unseen, lives unlived

And many roads

Untaken

***

Down Hwy. 400, October 2012

Hwy. 400, October 2012

 ***

One thought on “Down Canadian Roads Part 11 Vancouver Island to Victoria Harbour, Ontario

  1. What a cute Mommy I have (both then and now!) Dooky’s eyes as a child really looked like mom’s as a child.
    Lovely poems Dad. I love the multi-sensorial dimensions.

Leave a Reply

